THE CHÂNAPOULE TEA

An essential heritage of French Riviera .

It is the emblem of Mandelieu. Nestled against the hill of Mont San Peyre and with its feet in the water, it is the heart of the La Napoule district; unmissable for its remarkable garden and this building in the colours of the Estérel.

Discovered by the Romans, it was in medieval times that the Villeneuve family erected a fortress on the site, which was destroyed and rebuilt several times throughout history. It was not until 1918 that a couple of American artists and patrons – the Keys– acquire the ruins of the fortress and decide to rebuild it.

A little history… "Once upon a time…" There was a love story between the Clews and the ruins of a castle, the Château de La Napoule. After the Great War, seeking a haven of peace, Henry and Marie Clews decided to settle on the French Riviera and fell under the spell of La Napoule. They embarked on the reconstruction of the castle, with porphyry columns and capitals sculpted with fantastical figures, straight from the imagination of its restorer, Henry Clews, an American painter and sculptor. Each visit is thus an adventure through time, art, and mystery.

The castle today... The Château de La Napoule houses and preserves the cultural and historical heritage of Henry and Marie Clews. In parallel, The Napoule Art Foundation The owner of the castle allows it to host international artists. Thus, around sixty accomplished and emerging artists from all over the world are selected each year to participate in the artist residencies at the Château de La Napoule..

The Henry Clews Museum, meanwhile, is the showcase of the secret world of Henry and Marie Clews. The mystical and strange sculptures of Henry Clews integrate perfectly with the building and the gardens bringing their touch of strangeness to the place.

Schedules and rates : 04.93.49.95.05 / message@chateau-lanapoule.com

Ep.1 The Château de La Napoule feet in the water

LE AGECROFT CASTLE

Secret address: Mainly reserved for the Works Council, it is however possible to have lunch there or have a drink at the restaurant located in the castle while enjoying a view overlooking the sea!

A little history… In 1918 Agecroft Castle was born from the will of an English aristocrat, Harry Leland de Langley, who built it in red porphyry from the Estérel, on land overlooking the sea. After the Second World War, this The castle was sold to the Houillères du Nord-Pas-de-Calais who rehabilitated it to make it a holiday center for their coal miners. This history shared with the miners, forever links Mandelieu to Hauts de France, and he is often identified as the Miners' Castle. Today, it still welcomes vacationers referred by various works councils. Now classified, it is surrounded by an area of ​​14 hectares and is supported on all sides by a breathtaking view of the Mediterranean.